RIFLA is seeking new board and committee members to move multilingualism forward in the state of Rhode Island! Consider making a difference!

OFFICERS (2021-2023)                                           DIRECTORS and voting members


Kristin Archambault

Mansfield (CT) Middle School

French, Spanish, and ESL Teacher

Vice President


Recording Secretary

Kayla Soares 

Corresponding Secretary 

Michaela McCaughey

Trinity Academy for the Performing Arts (TAPA), Providence

Spanish Teacher & Dual Enrollment Coordinator

Advocacy Liaison

Leah Crescenzo

Preservice Student/Novice Teacher Representative

Rebecca Hobin

2023-2025 Board Members

Leah Crescenzo, Advocacy Liaison

East Greenwich High School

French Teacher

Emilia Carrillo, Social Media 

The Gordon School

Middle School Spanish

Sandra Severinkangas, Web Communications Chair

Paul Cuffee Upper School

Spanish Teacher and Advisor

2022-2024 Board Members

Piedade Lemos

Providence Career and Technical Academy (PCTA)

Teacher Leader for World Languages

Dawson Woodward

The Rectory School

Spanish Teacher

Audrey Lamou

St. George's School

French Teacher

Representatives from regional language associations (AATF, RITI, AATG, AATSP, CLTA)  

University Liaisons

Sílvia Oliveira, Ph.D.

Rhode Island College

Assoc. Professor of Portuguese Studies

Director, Institute of Portuguese and Lusophone World Studies

Dr. Ignacio Perez-Ibañez

University of Rhode Island

Associate Professor of Spanish and Teacher Education

Director, Spanish International Engineering Program


Dr. Erin Papa

Rhode Island College

Associate Professor of World Languages and World Languages Educational Studies

Director, World Languages Education Program 

2022-23  Committees

PD/Conference Committee: Kristin Archambault, Chair

Audrey Lamou

Kayla Soares

Dawson Woodward

Seal of Biliteracy Committee: Sarah Steverman, Chair 22-24

Michaela McCaughey

Nominations/Awards Committee: Sarah Steverman, Chair 22-24

Leah Crescenzo

Rebecca Hobin

Piedade Lemos

Kristin Archambalt

Web Communications Committee: Sandra Severinkangas, Chair 21-23

Michaela McCaughey

Emilia Carrillo

To Contact RIFLA:


Mailing address: RIFLA, PO Box 95Foster, RI 02825-1326

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software